Short history

The History of Maidstone Independent Christian Spiritual Church

The early history of the Church is, to say the least, a bit vague. We know that it started circa 1925 in a small room behind what was then The Central Cinema, now Boots the Chemist in King Street. It used a variety of venues, including a room over the Lamb Public House, until it moved to its present site in the 1950 and held Services in a Nissen Hut.

The Founder of the present Church was a Mrs Lillian Hammerton, who had the Church built. It became registered as a place of Worship in April 1960 with Mrs Hammerton as the first President. Unfortunately, Mrs Hammerton passed to Spirit in 1961. The membership then purchased the building from her estate and, as far as we can tell, elected a Mrs New and Mrs White to run the Church.

Mr T A Farley became the next President, followed by Mr David Jackett in his first term as President (5 years). Miss A E Stone (BEM) became President until 1989. Mr Jackett then started his second term as President until his passing in October 2003.

Church Presidents from 2003

Mrs Doreen Jacket: October 2003 to November 2011

Mr David Robinson: November 2011 to March 2016

Ms Elizabeth Field: March 2016 to April 2018

Mrs Joanna Robinson: April 2018 to July 2021

Ms Elizabeth Field July to November 2021

Miss Victoria Smith-Gillard November 2021 to April 2023

Mr David Gammon -May 2023 to current


The Minister of the Church is now Rev. Nicola Harwood Dip. Ed. PhD, taking over in July 2022. Nicola will spend some time getting to know the church, its members and congregation, and how the Church ticks. In time, Nicola may become the Registered Authorised Person to conduct Weddings and also undertakes Christenings, Naming Ceremonies and Funerals.

Trustees: Mrs Patricia Lever:

The Church is Independent and a Registered Charity in its own right.